|
Recently there has been a wave of emails, across the web, about domain-name registrations relating to companies in China. These often imply that a name will be lost, or all asian TLDs of the domain name will be taken away shortly by a foreign company. The Internet Centre has found no indication that any of these are valid, and they infact appear to be a scam. We have checked into registrations and none of the listed asian domains appear to have been registered, even several weeks after the 'warning' emails were sent. If you get an email similar to this: "We are the department of Asian Domain registration service in china. we have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application on June 15, 2009, One company which self-styled "EVO investment Co., Ltd" are applying to register "yourcompany" as internet brand and domain names as below: " Please ignore it, or contact us for assistance. For more information, see the following links. These are to other websites, unassociated with The Internet Centre, but explaining very similar situations, with other details based on other variations of the scam. http://successfulsoftware.net/2008/04/19/chinese-domain-scam/ http://blog.mindvalleylabs.com/the-chinese-domain-name-scam/333/ http://bulletproofitblog.ca/2009/04/30/beware-of-chinese-domain-registration-scam-hitting-alberta-businesses/ http://www.everybodygoto.com/2009/03/10/chinese-domain-name-scam/ |